Country's codes

International phone code for Nepal: +977

Standard ISO 3166-1:

    3 letters: NPL

    2 letters (internet domain): .NP

    Digital country code 524

Standard EAN-13 (country barcode): -

Olympic country code: NEP

FIFA code: NEP

Useful country information

Total area:  54,363 sq mi (140,800 sq km)

Population (2014 est.): 30,986,975 (growth rate: 1.82 birth rate: 21.07/1000; infant mortality rate: 40.43/1000; life expectancy: 67.19

Capital and largest city (2011 est.): Kathmandu, 1.015 million

Other large cities: Biratnagar, 174,600; Lalitpur, 169,100

Monetary unit: Nepalese rupee

Current government officials

Languages: Nepali (official) 44.6%, Maithali 11.7%, Bhojpuri 6%, Tharu 5.8%, Tamang 5.1%, Newar 3.2%, Magar 3%, Bajjika 3%, Urdu 2.6%, Avadhi 1.9%, Limbu 1.3%, Gurung 1.2%, other 10.4%, unspecified 0.2% note: 123 languages reported as mother tongue in 2011 national census; many in government and business also speak English (2011 est.)

Ethnicity/race: Chhettri 16.6%, Brahman-Hill 12.2%, Magar 7.1%, Tharu 6.6%, Tamang 5.8%, Newar 5%, Kami 4.8%, Muslim 4.4%, Yadav 4%, Rai 2.3%, Gurung 2%, Damai/Dholii 1.8%, Thakuri 1.6%, Limbu 1.5%, Sarki 1.4%, Teli 1.4%, Chamar/Harijan/Ram 1.3%, Koiri/Kushwaha 1.2%, other 19% note: 125 caste/ethnic groups were reported in the 2011 national census (2011 est.)

Religions: Hindu 81.3%, Buddhist 9%, Muslim 4.4%, Kirant 3.1%, Christian 1.4%, other 0.5%, unspecifed 0.2% (2011 est.)

Literacy rate: 57.4% (2011 est.)


Nepal, the landlocked multiethnic, multi-religious country, is situated north of India in the Himalayas, in the region where, about 40 to 50 million years ago, the Indian subcontinent crashed into Asia. Because of that accident, Nepal has some of the world's highest mountains, including Sagarmatha (Mt. Everest, 8848m, which it shares with Tibet. The highest mountain on Earth is towering above populated valleys and forested plains.
Somewhere here in the Kapilavastu district, there is a place called Lumbini, where Queen Mayadevi is said to have given birth to Siddhartha Gautama, better known as Buddha, around 500 BC.

Nepal can be divided broadly into three ecological zones: the lowland, the midland and the highland.
The altitude of the Himalayan region (the highlands) ranges from 4877 m - 8848 m; it includes 8 of the highest 14 peaks in the world that exceed heights of 8000 meters, including Mount Everest.
The Lower Himalayan region accounts for about 64 percent of total land area, which is formed by the Mahabharat range that soars up to 4877 m and the lower Churia range (Sivalik Hills).
The lowland Terai, the flat river plain of the Ganges with a belt of marshy grasslands, savannas, and forests, occupies about 17 percent of the country's total land area.

Country Map


Source of Information: